The Abduction Of Figaro DVD

Regular price $40.00

The Abduction Of Figaro (Video Arts International  DVD 4251):  A simply grand opera in three acts and by far the largest work by P.D.Q. Bach so far discovered, in the premiere performances by the Minnesota Opera, April 27 and 28, 1984, at the Orpheum Theatre in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  This DVD features bonus selections containing excerpts from Gross Concerto and an interview from “Hourglass” originally telecast November 8, 1972 in Vancouver.  This selection was originally available on videotape and is now available on a Region 0 (playable in all regions) DVD.


[1]  Introductory remarks by Prof. Peter Schickele

[2]  Opening Credits

[3]  Overture

Act One:  A town on the seacoast of Spain or Italy or somewhere

  • Professor Peter Schickele, conductor of Chorus, Corpse de Ballet, Orchestra of the Minnesota Opera, the Whole Schmeer
  • Leroy Lehr, bass (Al Donfonso, Pasha Shaboom, Papa Geno)
  • Dana Kruger, mezzo soprano (Susanna Susannadanna, Mama Geno)
  • Bruce Edwin Ford, tenor (Pecadillo)
  • Marilyn Brustadt, soprano (Donna Donna)
  • Lisbeth Lloyd, soprano (Blondie)
  • Michael Burt, bass baritone (Donald Giovanni)
  • Jack Walsh, almost-a-baritone (Schlepporello)
  • Will Roy, basso (Caption Kadd)
  • John Ferrante, bargain counter tenor (Opec)
  • Michael Montel, Stage Director
  • Larry Hayden, Choreographer
  • John Lee Beatty, Set Designer
  • Gail Bakkom, Costume Coordinator
  • Richard Stead, Wig & Make-up Master
  • Ruth Roberts, Lighting Designer
  • Kaye S. Lavine, Television Director
  • Stephen Schmidt, Television Producer

    The theme to Culture On Parade is performed by the London Serpent Trio (

Synopsis of Scenes

[1]  Introductory remarks by Prof. Peter Schickele

[2]  Opening Credits

[3]  Overture

Act One:  A town on the seacoast of Spain or Italy or somewhere

Scene One:  Figaro’s bedroom in the palace of Count Almamater

[4]  Introduction:  Found a peanut!

[5] Recit:  Ah, dear husband
      Aria:  Stay with me

[6] Recit:  Suzanna

[7] Recit:  Dog!
Aria:  Perfidy, thy name is Donald

[8] Recit:  I am distraught

[9] Quartet:  Love is gone

Scene Two:  A courtyard of the palace

[10] Recit:  Well, here we are

[11] Aria:  Behold, fair maiden

[12] Recit:  Just a moment
Duet:  The lofty tree

Scene Three:  Figaro’s bedroom

[13] Recit:  And here is my husband

[14] Recit:  Hold it!
Aria:  My name is Captain Kadd

[15] Recit:  Now that you’ve heard

[16] Sextet:  What a downer!

Scene Four:  The courtyard

[17] Recit:  Schlepporello
Aria:  No man

Scene Five:  At the dock

[18] Recit:  What a strange turn of events

[19] Quintet and Chorus:  Ah, though we must part

[20] Act I Finale

[21] Introduction to Act II

Act Two:  Somewhere in the Turkish Empire

Scene One:  At the seashore

[22] Duet:  God be praised

Scene Two:  In front of the Pasha’s palace

[23] Aria:  Fish gotta swim

[24] Chorus:  Hey, make way

[25] Dance of the Seven Pails

[26] Recit:  Your immenseness

[27]  Duet, Chorus, and Dialogue:  Who is the highest

[28] Quartet:  May I introduce

Scene Three:  A courtyard of the palace

[29] Dialogue and Recit:  Why?
        Aria and Dialogue:  Macho, macho

[30] Cavatina and Dialogue:  You can beat me

[31] Act II Finale

Act Three:  A tropical forest

[32] Ballet

[33] Trio and Dialogue:  A magic forest

[34] Duet and Dialogue:  I am a swineherd

[35] Finale (Part I) and Dialogue

[36] Aria and Dialogue:  Why, oh why

[37] Finale (Part II)

[38] Curtain Calls and Closing Credits

[39] Closing remarks by Prof. Peter Schickele

DVD Bonus Selections

Excerpts from the “Gross” Concerto for Divers Flutes, S. -2

Professor Peter Schickele in conversation with Gordon Hunt

Cover image, audio clips and scene listings are copyright © 1984 The Figaro Partnership, Ltd., Video Artists International (VAI) and are used with the permission of VAI.  Any other copying by other parties for other uses is not authorized.